Whether this is your first time purchasing insurance or you are considering switching to a new provider, auto insurance laws can sometimes be confusing. However, it is important to understand the basics to avoid any unwanted penalties. The experts at San Diego Tri-Star Insurance offer you some easy-to-understand tips regarding California’s auto insurance laws.
You Can’t Drive Without Auto Insurance
In California, the law requires all drivers to have insurance. This ensures that there is a way for a victim’s medical and car repair bills to be paid in the event of an accident. You must carry car insurance on each vehicle you own, even if they do not currently run.
You Must Carry Proof of Insurance
You must present proof of insurance if a police officer asks for it or if you have an accident. Showing proof of insurance is also required when you register your car, renew your registration, or get your vehicle inspected.
You Are Required to Have Liability Insurance
California has a minimum liability insurance requirement for each vehicle you own. The minimum amounts of bodily injury/death liability insurance you must have are $15,000 in coverage per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for multiple people injured in an accident. You must also have at least $5,000 of property damage liability insurance to cover destruction of property.
There Are Penalties for Driving Uninsured
You will be penalized if you are caught driving without insurance. For the first offense, the fine is $100-$200 in addition to local fines. For subsequent offenses within three years, the fees increase to $200-$500 for each offense. Your car may also be towed and impounded until you show proof of insurance, and you will be responsible for the related fees. You may also end up with a suspended license or registration.
If you are seeking reliable and cheap auto insurance in San Diego, choose Tri-Star Insurance. We offer a wide variety of options for cheap car insurance in San Diego and are confident we can find an affordable package to fit your insurance needs. Please give us a call at 619-272-2100 for a free quote. We look forward to hearing from you!